Last Day in Georgia (April 3)

We motored to Saint Marys today and anchored in the harbor. Today was sunny but a little cool with the wind. I was thankful I wore my fleece jacket for the dinghy ride because it was choppy and chilly. Saint Marys is a delightfully quaint little town. After talking with the lady at the visitors center, we had a map and a walking plan. First we went to the Cumberland Island National Seashore Museum. The museum is free and small…my kind of museums. It was very informative and explained many of the things we saw on Cumberland Island yesterday. I was especially interested in the Dungeness mansion and how the Carnegie family lived. After just finishing Downton Abbey, my interest was piqued since it was close to the same time period. As part of our “tour”, we visited the Presbyterian and the Episcopal churches. The Baptist and the Methodist must not be as trusting, because they were locked! We had planned to eat a seafood supper, but the weather became threatening, and I didn’t relish a ride back in choppier seas and rain. Settling for dessert and coffee, we had mac and cheese and hotdogs for supper instead.

Christ Church Episcopal Church, Saint Marys, GA

Christ Church Episcopal Church, Saint Marys, GA

First Presbyterian Church 1808

First Presbyterian Church 1808

Tonight has been our first bad weather since we left Charleston. Along with the rain came 10-15 knots of wind. I pulled my winter pjs back out and am comfy. Of course I took the socks out of the dorads earlier today; it feels like fans blowing through them. Tomorrow we motor less than 10 miles to Fernandina Beach, Florida. Wow! Florida! Our friends, Rob and Minta Fannon are coming Friday for a short visit. They are in Hilton Head for Rob’s conference today and tomorrow. We hope to sail Saturday. Haven’t had the sails up yet!

Update on my AFLAC duck….I think he was a Cattle Egret. According to my field book, it says they feed on the insects around livestock. That looks like what he was doing. I guess the horses like him taking care of bothersome insects, so this would be mutualism in symbiotic relationships. I know my fifth grade science curriculum.:-)

One thought on “Last Day in Georgia (April 3)

  1. Thank you for your continuing posts. I know the weather kept you in the Charleston harbor for longer than you wanted, but you are now missing the nasty last days of winter weather in Kingsport (37-39 today with heavy rain). Jeanette and I had a good visit with Nathan, Meredith, and granddaughter Caroline in Ashville on Good Friday, then were able to visit with Steve and his family on Sunday. Glad you are having a good trip now even though you are well tired by night fall. We will continue to pray for safe journey.

    Terry

Leave a Reply

