Math Problem

Dear Cubs,

Today has been a much easier day…little wind and warmer so Mrs. Little decided it was time for my school lessons.  She started with math.  Here is the problem she made me work on today.  It is a real problem and now I am starting to understand why Mrs. Sayler and Mrs. Harrison think math is so important.  I was very proud that I knew how to work this problem.  See if you can:

  1. We need to know how many miles a motoring sailboat can travel in a day.  Our speeds have been 5.2 mph, 5.mph, 8 mph, 6.3 mph, and 7.1 mph.  What is our average speed?
  2. We can only travel in daylight hours when we are motoring in the intracoastal waterway (ICW).  Sunrise is at 7:30 am and sunset at 7:30 pm, but realistically we usually leave about 9 am and try to anchor no later than 6 pm.  How many hours can we travel in a day?
  3. It is about 600 miles to Key West, Florida from Charleston, SC.  How many days should it take for us to get there is maintain our average speed?

Mrs. Salyer, you would be pleased to know that I am reading every day.  Mrs. Little is reading Gone With the Wind and she lets me read over her shoulder and reads aloud to me sometimes.  I bet I am reading 1-2 hours every day!!!  And Mrs. Harrison, did you know that Gone With the Wind is set during the Civil War?  We are now in the part during Reconstruction.  It is really good but it has over 1000 pages!  I don’t know how long it will take to finish.

I’ve also had a vocabulary lesson today about boat parts.  I will share that later.  I am learning so much.  Thank you Mrs. Salyer for not being too angry with me.  Oh, and by the way, the reason I didn’t take my backpack was that it was a spur of the moment decision and I really thought I would get caught before Mrs. Little even left the building.

If I don’t talk to you again, I hope you all have a nice Easter and springbreak.  Maybe we will find a church somewhere along the water on Sunday.   I guess I am going to miss the egg hunt also.  I don’t believe the Easter bunny can swim.

Love,

Cubby

P.S.  Captain James is so impressed with my math ability, he is teaching me how to use the charts to navigate.

learning how to navigate

learning how to navigate

Leave a Reply

