P.S.

May 20, 2013

Dear Cubs,

This will probably be my last letter to you.  Mrs. Little talked on the phone with Mrs. Harrison earlier and said graduation was Wednesday.  Wow!  The year has flown by hasn’t it?  We are in Miamarina at downtown Miami.  Today was a work day to get the boat ready to sail back to South Carolina.  Captain James scrubbed the decks, and I helped wash the dinghy.  There was salt and seaweed all over the boats.  When we left Key West, it was quite windy with lots of big waves that splashed all over the boat.  When the sun dried up the water, it left the salt.  Mrs. Salyer, it was like a science experiment.  I helped Mrs. Little wash the screens.  See the salt crystals.  While Mrs. Little did laundry, she left me to vacuum.

Vacuuming

Vacuuming

Cleaning salt off screens...do you see the salt crystal in my paw?

Cleaning salt off screens…do you see the salt crystal in my paw?

Even though I am tired after working hard all day, I am excited.  Tomorrow I get to meet Mrs. Little’s son, Matt.  He is flying into the Miami airport to sail back with us.  Another friend of the Littles is coming also, Mr. Rob Fannon.  His wife teaches art at Sevier Middle School.  You will meet her next year.  She is a sailor also.  We are going to be sailing back day and night on the ocean to get back home quickly.  If the weather holds, we should be home by the weekend.  Everyone will take turns taking a watch (a certain number of hours to sail the boat) while others will sleep.  Matt and Mr. Fannon are good sailors, so I feel safe.  I have found a special place to ride on the boat when it gets rocky.  See me in my little pouch.  When it’s calmer, I ride on the compass with Captain James and help steer the boat.

My pouch

My pouch

Helping Capt. James steer Ragtime

Helping Capt. James steer Ragtime

Sometimes I sit in the drink holder.  It is a very comfy seat.

Sometimes I sit in the drink holder. It is a very comfy seat.

Mrs. Little was going through her pictures and realized she had some pictures she hadn’t sent you.

The closest thing to a video machine that I have played in 10 weeks!

The closest thing to a video machine that I have played in 10 weeks!

Bed made of straw in the old fort...wasn't comfortable.

Bed made of straw in the old fort…wasn’t comfortable.

school in St. Augustine

school in St. Augustine

Oldest School

Oldest School

Mrs. Salyer, I will continue to write you if we have Internet connection on the ocean.  I will call you when I get back to Kingsport, so you can come get me, please.

Love,

Cubby

Leave a Reply

